A Magazine by the Society of Professional Journalists

People and Places: December 2006

By Quill

Brown Dunlap honored for distinguished service

Karen Brown Dunlap, SPJ member and president of The Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg, Fla., was recently awarded the prestigious Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism.

She has spent more than 30 years educating journalists and journalism students, teaching seminars in the U.S. and abroad. She serves on the boards of the Newspaper Association of America Foundation, the Eckerd Youth Alternatives and the Florida Education Fund.

She is on the board of directors of the St. Petersburg Times Publishing Co. and was a former writer at the St. Petersburg Times. The co-author of “The Effective Editor” and “The Editorial Eye,” Brown Dunlap was editor of the Institute’s Best Newspaper Writing series. She has also taught journalism at Tennessee State University and the University of South Florida in Tampa, and she continues teaching at Poynter. Other awards include the 2005 Gerald M. Sass Distinguished Award from the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communications.

Hawes named managing editor at Pharos-Tribune

Kelly Hawes was recently hired as managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune in Logansport, Ind. Hawes is a former national president and former member of the Sigma Delta Chi Foundation Board of Directors.

Hurst inducted into Hall of Excellence

Former SPJ Executive Director Russell E. Hurst was inducted into the TCU Schieffer School of Journalism Hall of Excellence on Oct. 28.

Hurst worked in newspapers and radio in Fort Worth before earning a master’s degree and at the University of Minnesota. He later became a reporter at the Minneapolis Tribune and then a writer for the editorial page.

He was executive director of the Society of Professional Journalists for a record 19 years, starting in 1962. Membership more than doubled during his tenure. In 1981, he received the Wells Memorial Key, SPJ’s highest honor to a member.

Other members of the Schieffer School’s Hall of Excellence are journalism educators Warren Agee and J. Willard Ridings, CBS newsman Bob Schieffer, Broadway and TV actress Betty Buckley, newspaper editor Ken Bunting, sports journalist Dan Jenkins, online journalism pioneer Johnny Livengood and writers Bud Shrake and Gary Cartwright.