A Magazine by the Society of Professional Journalists

Chapter News – August

By Quill

D.C. goes Honky Tonk

The D.C. Pro chapter honored several journalists at its annual Dateline Awards Dinner at the

National Press Club in June. CBS’ Bob Schieffer, PBS’ Gwen Ifill, U.S. News & World Report’s Kenneth T. Walsh and Bureau of National Affairs editor Toby McIntosh were inducted into the chapter’s Hall of Fame. The Washington Post’s Courtland Milloy was presented with the chapter’s Distinguished Service Award.

When Schieffer accepted his award, he took a moment to speak about two American journalists, Euna Lee and Laura Ling, imprisoned in North Korea. He reminded the audience that “going where the story is is not always the easiest thing to do, but it is the courage of the individual reporter that makes journalism what it is today.”

In addition to honoring the well-deserving journalists, the event’s guests got a special treat. Schieffer and his band Honky Tonk Confidential entertained the room with “TV Anchorman,” “He’s in the White House Now” and “I Feel Good.”

South Florida lends a hand

The South Florida Pro chapter offers a place for laid-off journalists to work and search for jobs, throwing in for free every journalist’s staple item: coffee. Patty Doherty recently opened the restaurant Cooks in Jupiter, Fla., and her doors are open the first Wednesday of every month to all journalists who need a place to work on stories, set up interviews/meetings or just talk. If the journalists are hungry, Doherty has also promised “to whip up something that unemployed writers can afford.” SPJ members get one more perk: free Wi-Fi.

Minnesota makes history

Hubbard Broadcasting and KSTP-TV received the National Historic Site in Journalism award June 26. It was the first time the award was given in Minnesota. The annual award has been bestowed on news organizations, people or landmarks of national interest since 1942. Past winners include the Hartford Courant, Elizabeth Timothy and Ida B. Wells-Barnett. Hubbard Broadcasting began in 1925 when Stanley E. Hubbard created a radio station. The company’s broadcasting accomplishments continued, including the first TV station in the United States to broadcast in color, the first to broadcast a seven-day schedule and the first to use remote satellite reports inside newscasts. Writing on behalf of Minnesota Pro chapter board, president Nicole Garrison-Sprenger noted in the award nomination letter that the chapter “believe(s) this local gem embodies the spirit with which SPJ’s Historic Sites in Journalism program was created.”

Well-known Philly journalist helps honor city’s best

Philadelphia Daily News columnist and beat writer Stan Hochman was the keynote speaker at the 45th annual Excellence in Journalism awards banquet in Philadelphia on June 18. For half a century, Hochman has been an active journalist in the city of brotherly love. An award-winning sports journalist, he kicked off the Philadelphia chapter’s award ceremony that honored the city’s best professional journalism in 49 categories.

Slaymaker wins prestigious award

The Woman’s Press Club of Indiana honored freelance magazine writer and SPJ member Julie Slaymaker with the Kate Milner Rabb Award in June. The award is the highest form of recognition given by the WPCI and honors an organization member for professional excellence and exceptional service to the organization. Slaymaker is a former president of WPCI.

This is the second time Slaymaker has won the Rabb Award; the first was in 1991. A distinguished servant to journalism and community, she and her husband, Gene Slaymaker, were the first recipients of the Indiana Pro chapter’s Award for Service to Journalism. The chapter specifically noted the couple’s dedication to the SPJ communications contest for 20 years.

Sigma Delta Chi Foundation honors students

Two students from the University of Maryland and one from the University of the District of Columbia received scholarships from the Sigma Delta Chi Foundation of Washington, D.C., for their views on journalistic fairness, ethics and First Amendment values. The recipients are Bradley Mighdoll and Stephanie Ostroff from Maryland and Andrea Wright from UDC. Wright is the first student from UDC to receive an SDX/DC scholarship.